Letterpress project!

20140219-195314.jpg

 

This semester I decided to take a Typography course as an intro into the world of graphic design. Sooo graphic design is kinda hard, but I get to use InDesign so that makes it all worth it (GO INDESIGN!). *Cough* so yes, letterpress. As tedious as it is, I think I might be in love. My teacher hit the nail on the head when she said you have to get into the zen of letterpress. Let me tell you, “zen” is the perfect word for it. Lucky for me, I can’t get enough of zen. Setting the type was over way too soon for me as I probably could have sat there for hours hunting for each cute little metal letter (they are not stored in alphabetical order, which just adds to the zen-ness of it all) and placing it in the composing stick. *Sigh* I miss it already.

Anyway, the sentence I chose to set is a pick-up line directed at hard-core art gallery enthusiasts:

I may not be an Yves Klein, but I’d be pretty blue if I couldn’t get your phone number.

HA! (look Yves Klein up. its funny.)

Final printed product soon to come!

Leave a comment